Marco saddle users

-- Last Updated: Oct-09-06 12:36 PM EST --

What pros and cons have you found? Has anyone fitted them to the Thule, aluminum "aero" cross bars? I am trying to find a good, supportive fit for a new hard chined boat with shallow vee hull.

Mako saddles
by Yakima? If these are the ones, yes, I have a pair under my Necky Looksha IV when it’s on the road.

Hard chine, shallow v hull seems to fit just fine. Mine are on the Yakima bars, though…

Bought a pair of Mallone autoloaders for the wife’s boat, and am truly impressed with these.

A bit higher to lift the boat, but they grip the hull like King Kong’s cousin. Decent price, and I belive they’ll fit any crossbar within reason.

Check them out.

T

Marco - not Mako Saddles
http://www.marcosaddles.com/

I’ve been using them for about three years now. I use the “wing mount” and they fit fine on “Spring Creek” (One Tuff Truck Rack), Factory VW (Jetta), and Yakima round bars (although they can spin a bit without a boat on).

I’ve been very pleased with quality and performance. They are VERY easy to load, and with some good straps (always around the bars too) are the best you can get.

I have em, they are great but…

– Last Updated: Oct-09-06 9:51 PM EST –

I Have Yakima Makos. Not the Marcos sorry I misread, but anyway......

I found that in very high cross wind that they will spread (or drift apart) no matter how tight you make them and let the boat drop and become lose. To fix that I made flat aluminum bars and bolted them together with stainless 5/16 carrage bolts and the extra set of holes on the base of each saddle so there is no way they can move apart. It's also much easyer to take them on and off as a unit when they are bolted together.

If you have a composite boat the felt pads are a must.

Marco saddles