Marine Radio - AA holders?

-- Last Updated: Sep-25-08 9:35 AM EST --

Just got a used West Marine VHF50 radio. Can you refer to any sources for AA or AAA battery holders (trays) for it? The ones which can be used instead of the bult-in battery, to clarify.

Not sure if that thing exists though, since the battery pack is 7.2V and is rather small so may be there is no room in the radio for that many 1.5V batteries inside...

So, the next question - do you know a good source for OEM or replacement lithim rechargeable batteries for these things? eBay is hit or miss and the others I've seen in cursory searches seem to sell for outrageous prices (like upwards of $100 for the battery pack)...

Lastly, if you got any hints on that particular model radio - share (I'm new to the VHF thing). I got the manual and have some knowledge of using RF communications on the water, just asking if that radio has any quirks I need to know of. Planning to probably keep it in a small dry bag anyway but other than that...

Here is a USCG link
http://www.navcen.uscg.gov/marcomms/boater.htm

It has pretty much everything you need to know about VHF protocol.

You should check with West Marine. If the radio was made for a AA or AAA tray they can tell you.

Jim

Otter cases?
As in something dry to hold spare batteries, that what you need? Otter cases have protected batteries, cell phones and all kinds of other stuff for us.

As to 1.5V batteries, try Radio Shack. But you are going to be challenged to get them in quantity anywhere I think.

I think he is looking for a "tray"
to allow AA or AAAs to be used in lieu of the NiCad or LiO2 rechargable.

BTW, Case Logic (Google it) makes fine cases for holding spare AA batteries. Not waterproof but fitted.

Jim

Clarification
I updated my post to clarify - looking for two things: