Marine Radio

Hello,

I am fairly new to kayaking having just purchased a WS Tsunami over the winter. I have been getting out a lot lately, mainly on the upper branches of the Housatonic above the tidal portions. I would like to be able to venture to the tidal river and even out into the sound, however, I am really concerned for safety. I am working on all of my techniques and skills and am feeling more confident every time out.

I was told by a good friend who has one that a Marine Radio is a good investment if you’re heading out to the ocean. I was wondering what your thoughts were, as well as what some recommendations might be? His is many years old, and he is not sure of the newer models.

I am not looking to spend a lot of money, (in fact, I have a b-day coming up!!).

Thanks for any advice. I came across this and it looked fairly competent for my needs.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp?id=0027407017179a&type=product&cmCat=search&returnPage=search-results1.jsp&QueryText=marine+radio&N=4887&Ntk=Products&Ntx=mode+matchall&Nty=1&Ntt=marine+radio&noImage=0

marine radio
It’s great life insurance.

Buy one that is submersible. This generally means submersible to 6 feet for about 5 minutes.

West Marine has them for about $165. They are small enough to fit easily into a pocket on your PFD.

lessons & a drysuit
are a great investment too

Archive Search
"Marine Radio" for the last year and you’ll get differing opinions about different radios and whether or not to put them in a waterproof case.

Me: I have FS-11 I bought for VFD work but had Channels 16, 19, 22, 23, and 73 installed over and above the Fire and Rescue channels. When on the water I use a waterproof pouch which you can communicate through.

Any day on the water is a great day.

Cal

Voyager
You can find the Uniden Voyager for the same or lower price with a little searching on the web.