Me and you and a dog in a canoe?

I’m a novice kayaker with an Old Town Vapor 10 rec kayak. I mostly kayak on man made lakes which have some light to modest waves when wind kicks up but are pretty flat most of the time. I like the stability of my kayak and the size of the cockpit as I’m a bigger guy.

The thing is that I’d love to take my dog (a 60 pd collie mix) and occasionally my wife on the lake with me. I’ve been thinking of adding a canoe to my fleet but don’t know what to go with. I’m mostly concerned with stability, but I also want something that has at least a 750 pd weight capacity in case we’d decide to take it camping.

I’ll probably be paddling solo 90% of the time and even when the wife is along, she won’t be doing much aside from sight seeing and I’m concerned a longer boat might be too challenging for me to handle solo. I have zero canoe experience aside from capsizing one in boy scouts 20+ years ago. Frankly, I’ve been wary of them ever since then so I hope someone can steer me in the right direction. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

next boat
One of the reasons kayaks are popular is that they can be handled by novices with no training. A canoe will definitely handle you and your wife and a dog. It is not that hard to handle a 16 canoe solo. You just have to paddle from amidships. You can even use a kayak paddle if you are already comfortable with it. It will be much more seaworthy than a 10 foot kayak.

no canoe will hold 750 lbs
nor does it need to… You have listed a max of 450 lbs ( apologies to your wife… I likely overestimated) Gear should not weigh 300 lbs. Ours for two weeks weighs 70.

Capacities are often listed with six inch freeboard as the measure. Performance capacities are much less… measured as sinking the craft to the four to five inch waterline and leaving 8-10 inches above water.