Merlin II KevCrystal with Lightning Tech

I’m thinking about purchasing a Merlin II, but am not that sure of the particular lay-up available to me: Lightning Tech Kev Crystal composite. I understand this is the same as what the Bell site now calls Kevlight. In any event I was wondering if anyone could comment on a Merlin II, with wood trim, made of this material. This is the only boat available at this Bell dealership (in California) so I don’t have other options if I want the Merlin II. I’m just a bit concerned about it’s durability and stiffness. Having only owned Royalex boats in the past, I’m completely new to composites. I will be using it on Sierra Lakes/reservoirs where with fluctuating water levels rocks may occasionally jump up and bite. I also may take it on a local class I-II river on occasion. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Probably not…
the layup for your use. The Kevcrystal is Bell’s “ultralight” layup and is definitely the most fragile; not extremely rock friendly. The lightning tech is just a new method of additional weight savings whereby they utilize a resin impregnation method into the cloth rather than applying a gel coat. Overall durabality between the gelcoat and the Lightning tech is about the same; advantage is some weight savings. The black gold or white gold layups are a better choice for rocks; both can be had with the lightning tech option at no additional cost. I have a black gold Merlin II; it sounds like for your use it would be a good boat. Can’t your dealer order you one?

Good luck

Hey Canoe11
This impregnated Clothe thing. Is it like the “skin coat” Racing boats that Wenonah is famous for?

Charlie

Abrasion/Kevlight repair/stiffness