Middle Seat

Hey Paddlers,

So im looking into a middle seat for my Minnesota ii and im having trouble deciding what i want to get. I think I’m either going to buy the Wenonah drop in seat

http://www.wenonah.com/Items.aspx?id=47

or the Spring Creek canoe seat/yokehttp://store.springcreek.com/Seats/Seats/Spring-Creek-s-Canoe-Seat-Yoke-p1598.html

The Spring Creek seat replaces the yoke and would sit in the middle i think. The drop in seat would sit in front of the yoke i think, which makes me worried about balance. Is it better to have a middle seat just forward of the yoke or have it in the middle? I feel like having it in the middle would be better, though i have limited experience with 3 people in the boat so i don’t know.

My other concern is I don’t know how low these seats sit compared to the normal tractor seats i have in my boat. I don’t want a seat that sits up to high and throws off the balance. Anyone here use either of these seats? how high do they sit?

Anyways any help or wisdom on middle seat options would be appreciated

Thanks

TJ

a center seat/yoke option
Ed’s Canoe sells a combination of the two which works very well. I put one in the middle of a Malacite I restored for our daughter and its been a hit. The MN II is two feet longer than the Malacite, so one caveat would be that it might not be an appropriate yoke for long or difficult portages.

www.edscanoe/yokecane-center-seat.html

For kids, or for an adult? Paddling?
I suggest you study carefully how Wenonah sets up their Minnesota 3, and thoughtfully apply that to the smaller MII.

I’ve never thought much of Spring Creek, but I suppose their add on seat would be safer than their sponsons.

seat