Midwest to Northwest - Canoe advice?

I recently moved from the Midwest, where most of the rivers I was on were typically low water, rocky, and not to wild. I’m now in Oregon, close the McKenzie. I’m still learning the area and the water. It seems that most people raft the McKenzie and similar rivers. The boats I own:

Mohawk 17" Intrepid

Mohawk 12" Sportsman w/ float bags

Wenonah 16.6" Jenson C1W

I love all my boats, but I’m wondering if I need to swap them around to get a boat that will handle the rougher water. I’d like to have a tandem and a solo. I’m willing to move all three boats if need be.

Again, I’m still learning the water in this area. But I’d like to do more river touring that lake cruising. The tandem would be the river tripping 2-3 night boat. And the solo would be my hit the water for a few hours boat.

I appreciate any recommendations on boats, as well as websites, books, companies, etc…

(In order to get a new boat, I’ll have to sell what I’ve got in order to foot the bill)

New canoe?
I would try a few trips in your current boats first. If you like them and can paddle them well I don’t think any of them is unsuited to big, rough water.

If you have to change there is always the Wenonah Rogue and Rendezvous.

Oregon

– Last Updated: May-19-08 10:57 AM EST –

There are a couple books, one called, "Paddling Oregon's Quiet Waters", and I know there's another dealing with white water but I don't recall the name. Have you been into the paddle shop in Eugene? They may or may not be helpful, I've had mixed dealings with that place. Also, they deal mostly in kayaking, and less so with canoeing. Imo, some of the coastal rivers would make nice overnight camping-paddling as the rivers get closer to the sea. They are never used except by fisherman. The only problem, and it's a big problem, is the wind as the air warms up late morning-midday.

Welcome to rain country
That lead is is with a smirk.