Mississippi

I like adventure. I plan to paddle down the Mississippi from the source to the Gulf of Mexico starting in June. I have never been in a Kayak. I plan to get the boat this month if everything goes right, a Eddyline Nighthawk 16. I plan on working on by kayak skill in the local bays and rivers until then. Am I nuts?

I have plenty of experience in long distance bicycle and motorcycle touring so the logistics of packing for long term journeys where weight/volume is a concern is pretty much solved.

I am most concerned about finding my way, portages in the upper reaches of the Mississippi. Do I need to think about GPS? I am a map and compas guy.

I plan on having my wife haul me to Minnesota and stand by for a few days in case I need to be rescued early on. She will pick me up at the Gulf and haul my ass back home if I surve. She has done this on a number of occassions so she is used to it.

I plan on taking a couple of months. I will probably resupply myself with care packages mailed to general delivery along the way along with just shopping in the local supermarkets. I might fish a little. I will drink treated river water

What do I need that is unique to kayak travel?

missisissisisiiisisiiisisispppi
Email me about your trip. I will forward your email to a few people I know who have also done the whole river.

NO GPS!!! those things are so overrated.

just do it!!!

get good topo maps and yes do some resupply at various towns etc.

I think your first dam is not till Alton Il. near St Louis. Above that the rivers not that wide so you will be fine.

I had some friends do the Miss in a home made huck finn raft that they tied together.

good luck and take pics

n

Mississippi
Start at lake Itaska by the stepping stones. If you find you are going upstream turn 180. You should find your way. The sun in many parts of the central USA rises in the east and sets in the west.

You may have right of way over barge traffic but don’t even consider a challenge.