Mohawk Canoes... Priced incredibly well

I was just looking at the classfiveboats website where they make Mohawk fiberglass canoes and I have got admit, for fiberglass boats their prices are great! I mean, as low as $635 for a 17’4 75 lbs boat… that’s incredible!!!

Now I know in life usually the saying you get what you pay for applies… So I was wondering if anyone had CONS I should know about. I am wondering how many layers of 'glass other companies fiberglass canoes usually have; or something that might tell me why the price point on this canoe seems so darn good! Thanks!

No Dealers
I believe Mohawk only sells direct to the customer so there is no dealer markup but you do need to figure the shipping cost into your final boat price. Their white water boats are great but I have no experience with their fiberglass layup boats. Another point of interest is that their outfitting store shows the final price that includes shipping. I wish more online stores would do that.

They aren’t Mohawks!
The canoes aren’t built by Mohawk - Class Five bought the molds from Mohawk. The only similarity is the design.

Joel Flather did the same thing with Compass Cayak - bought the Rushton molds. But he never claimed to be making Rushtons.

Methinks Class Five is pushing the limits of truth in advertising. They also say their boats are Coast Guard approved, but the Coast Guard does not approve boats.

I don’t see how they can make quality hand-laid fiberglass canoes at the prices on their website unless they’re using convict labor.

Pushing the limits?