Moved seat back, freed up stern??

I have a Capella 166RM, which I have been paddling for 18 months or so. At the time I bought it, I was looking for a more stable platform for a particular trip and also to do some teaching out of. Long, story short the Capella bores me - I don’t find it maneuverable enough for most of the paddling that I do. This is true of most seakayaks - I test paddled a Cetus last weekend and wanted it to be more responsive to turning strokes.

Deciding not to buy the Cetus, I decided to remedy a complaint I had with the Capella - I’ve always felt the seat is too far forward in the large cockpit requiring a long reach behind to hook the sprayskirt, which has bitten me a few times in surf. I had not previously moved the seat because I was afraid it would further lock in the stern and make the boat even less maneuverable.

I just got back from a test paddle with the seat temporarily about 2" further back than stock - eliminating most of the room between the seat and the rear coaming. The surprising thing was, the boat felt more responsive, particularly when underway. Static turning moves - i.e. alternating sweeps and reverse sweeps seemed about the same, but when moving the boat seemed to turn better and hold a steadier edge.

Any thoughts as to why this would be? It seems counter intuitive. Could the bow have been plowing more with the seat forward causing a more sluggish response.

Could it have just been wishful thinking and a placebo effect, perhaps but looking to Salty and others for any explanations of why the feel may have changed.

Thanks - Jamie

Not quite
but, if you want to experience a really responsive to turns boat, sit on the back deck, bring your feet up, and paddle :slight_smile:

Just to suggest of few thoughts - what would track better - something that you push or pull?

It couldn’t have freed the stern…

– Last Updated: Aug-20-10 3:07 PM EST –