moving seat question

I am still relatively new to kayaking, but have a question.

I have a Wilderness Systems Sealution (about 17 foot). Been out in it a few times, and feel comfortable in it, with one small exception. I really have to work at bending my knees to get my feet and legs in the cockpit when entering from a seated position. (Make sense?). Anyway, I was checking it out today while washing it after a day on the lake, and noticed that there is about eight inches of room behind the seat. I was thinking “I wish that I had that space for legroom up front”, and then noticed that the seat is bolted onto the sides, with five bolt holes for adjustment. I can move it back two more holes, giving me maybe another inch and a half. Doesn’t sound like much, but it would sure help me get my legs in with my knees getting less flexible by the year.

My question is… how do I know where the “right” spot is for the seat? Obviously, I want the leg room, but am I changing the balance point or center of gravity? How do I know? Pluses or minuses of the seat forward or back?

Any help or insight is much appreciated! Thanks!

You may be entering wrong.
With some boat/person combinations it is possible to sit in the cockpit first and put your legs in afterward. But if that doesn’t work (and often doesn’t) you have to slide your straight legs in first and your butt last. It is more important that your boat be balanced fore and aft than that you be able to enter butt first.

More Leg Room
I was able to move the seat back on mine about 2 and a half inches. True it doesn’t sound like much but that extra leg room feels great. If it changed the balance of the boat I havn’t been able to tell.

I agree, but…
“It is more important that your boat be balanced fore and aft than that you be able to enter butt first.”