Must make decision

Before today I had not ever been in a kayak. That being said, I have been researching the purchase of same for about six months. I have narrowed down my search to two models. A Perception 145 in airilite with a rudder and an Eddyline Equinox. I have demo’d the Carolina but do not have a dealer in the area that will demo an Equniox. I plan on doing flat water and large rivers (no whitewater) then eventually (as skills increase) do light ocean type things. I liked the Carolina but thought I fit better in the Equinox. People say good things about the Equinox but they haven’t really sold that many to enable me to get any feedback from current customers. My gut tells me that this boat would probably be right for me but I would like to hear an unbiased opinion or two before I spend the better part of two grand.

Thank you in advance.

Ed

Not sure about unbiased (see profile)
but I like the Eddyline. Only wish they made the same thing in a longer boat. But who knows: first there was the skylark, then this … they seem to be creating a family of hard-chined, greenland-style boats (if only in looks). Love the Carbonlite, love the weight, and that barcalounger seat is

c o m f y!

Where are you? Can’t believe there isn’t a dealer who will let you demo it. Not even the one who’s selling?!

Take your time
paddle some more boats

buy a used boat

paddle it for a year or two

I’ll second Gary’s advice, and…
…add the following…

Forget about your current “short list”, and think instead in terms of trying to find many different boats to try; rent, demo, and if any of your friends paddle, ask to try their boats as well. Sure, try those boats you’re currently considering as well, but you really need to try many more boats before you can even begin to narrow down the list.