My new greenland paddle

It’s as Joe O said…I am slightly addicted.

I’m using old trial and error method,picking different woods and trying em out. Did a solid paddle out of walnut,bit heavy but beautiful…sorta like some women I have dated.haha.Anyway drop me a line and tell me what you think.You can post anon on my page as well.

Cheers

Abduk

http://awholebunchofings.blogspot.com/2009/11/walnut-greenland-paddle-complete.html

maybe a little big
I find walnut a nice wood to work with, as a furnituremaker. It’s certainly heavier than cedar or pine, but about middle of the pack for hardwoods. Even so, I think your weight of over 4 pounds for the finished paddle is quite excessive. Perhaps you’ve left things a little too fat? I’m by no means an expert paddlesmith, so I’ll let others give you specific shaping advice, but I’d guess there are some areas that could use some slimming.

I can’t imagine you’ll want to use a four pound paddle for very long.

Very pretty
Maybe next time laminate walnut edges with cedar?

You’re right…heavy, but lovely.

– Last Updated: Nov-28-09 10:17 PM EST –

I'm curious about the actual dimensions. It may just be the camera angle, but it looks like a pretty long loom relative to the blade length (almost analogous to a Betsie Bay type paddle than what I might see as being more "traditional").

To reference my curiosity/comment...

My currently favorite GP is 84" LOA, with 33" blades, and an 18" loom. I have an old Betsie Bay that is also 84" LOA, but the blades are only about 30" each, and the loom is about 24".

Do you have really broad shoulders and/or beamy boat? Or does the picture itself just make the dimensions look a bit different than they really are? In any event, a very nice looking paddle. Thanks!

Melissa

thank you very much guys
I have zero wood working skills period.you can check out my ikea tv stand I put together in my last project report on my blog lol.