My Walden Passage is tracking left on me

I’m certainly a newbie and will learn, so please take that into account…first time out on my used Walden Passage and it was a bit frustrating. It kept tracking left on me and even with paddling on the left side it was difficult to bring it back to center or I should say harder to bring back than when it was tracking right and bringing it back to center. Any ideas on this? I was focusing on body position and balance, paddling evening on both sides, nothing. The seat doesn’t appear to have any type of adjustments and it didnt appear to be offer center at all? Thanks for any tips/ideas

What I have learned

– Last Updated: Jun-15-12 10:42 AM EST –

so far, as I am a complete newbie to kayaking, is that you may be leaning ever so slightly to the right which will make the kayak tend to turn to the left. There is a thread on here started by me a few weeks ago titled Constant turn. Take a look at that as the folks were really helpful. Also what I am slowly learning is how weathercocking affects the kayak. I am noticing it slightly with even in a slight wind. There are threads recently that talk about that as well.

torso rotation stroke
What you’re experiencing is more common than not for a first-timer, so don’t worry.

If a first-timer is pulling to the left consistently, it’s usually because they’re trying to use their arms to pull the paddle through the water, rather than using their whole upper body to make the stroke happen. Short of getting yourself into a class with a qualified instructor, take a look at some videos online regarding torso rotation and the correct forward paddle stroke. Get those arms out in front of you, and make your back muscles and rotation do the work for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sP2cYu0NX8

tracking left