Myrtle Beach, SC paddling

Anyone know of paddling spots near Myrtle Beach, SC? I am going with the family for a week in July and will be taking the kayak. I am trying to stay out of the ocean as I am a novice. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Head a little north to…
Huntington Beach state park in NC, and there is some good estuarie paddling there.

We saw a couple of river otters playing in one of the marsh rivers.

Just make sure you get a tide chart so you won’t get caught at low tide in the mud flats.

Cheers,

JackL

Also a little north, just across the
NC state line. Go through Calabash NC to Sunset beach. Intercoastal waterway, salt marsh, tidal creeks etc with good access. Also go a lfew more miles farther north to the back side of Ocean Isle beach, Shallote river/inlet is a fun place. Or south to Murrells inlet just south of Myrtle Beach (although I’ve never personally paddled there). String knows of a great blackwater river paddle close by. Maybe he’ll see this and help you out.

I’ve paddled a few times at the very north end of North Myrtle Beach. The area is called Cherry Grove and the inlet there is called Hog Inlet. There are some nice tidal areas inland from the inlet and if you paddle across the inlet there is a totally undeveloped stretch of beach over there. I’ve done a lot of kayak fishing and paddling around there…it is very nice. Just watch the tides because the current can rip out of the inlet at 3 or 4 knots sometimes.

Regards…

BeachAV8R

MB paddling

– Last Updated: Jun-10-05 4:40 PM EST –

Murrells Inlet is a great place. There is a nice put in on the Murrells Inlet road (I can't remember the name, but there is only one road that goes along the inlet) beside a large, beautiful Methodist church. It is well-labeled. The inlet is huge and there is lots to see. At high tide you can paddle almost anywhere, at low tide you are restricted to the main channels. Murrells is slightly South of MB.

Huntington is in SC, not NC