NDK Explorer....A hard boat to beat!!!

Well I have been paddling an Explorer for a few months now and it really has made an impression on me in many ways so I wanted to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Summary:

Despite my initial and somewhat continual bias against the boat (I keep thinking I need something more lively and playful) I keep coming back to the Explorer.

It is not the most playful boat, and it is not the fastest, but it is super-capable, adequately fast, and very versatile.

Its rough water performance is outstanding. I truly feel unlimited in terms of what conditions I can tackle in this boat. It surfs well, rolls easily, is maneuverable, stable, and very predictable. Its construction is bombproof. Very neutral in strong winds, and has a bow that just will not bury in big water.

It’s a hard boat to beat.

Background:

I feel this is a fairly objective review because the boat has made a favorable impression on me despite the fact that I got the boat when I had somewhat of a bias against it believe it or not.

I have owned several other boats to include the Aquanaut, the Greenlander Pro, the Avocet and the Romany, and recently picked up a Nordkapp LV that I am still messing around with.

I bought a used Explorer this summer somewhat out of necessity. I sold my Avocet (my surf / play boat which I really liked) because I was going to buy a friends Romany which I liked a little better. Unfortunately he changed his mind about selling the boat right after I sold the Avocet! I was not happy. I could not find another used Romany anywhere and did not want to spend the money for a new one. It was prime kayaking season and I needed a boat to play in the surf zone.

A friend had an Explorer for sale. I paddled it and thought it was okay…not great, but okay and it is supposed to be a good rough water boat, and supposed to surf well. Also thought it might be good for my weight (195) as I felt I was a bit heavy for my Avocet.