NDK Explorer X Impex Force

-- Last Updated: Apr-21-06 12:06 AM EST --

I heard last week from a pretty experienced instructor that the Force line from Impex is very similar to the NDK Explorer/Romany.

If so, this should be a great thing, due to the fact that Impex is famous for its superb finish and attention to detail and the Explorer is famous for being plain and simply a great boat design with sometimes questionable workmanship.

I have no experience with the Force, I love the Explorer, any thoughts?

Too New for Opinions?

– Last Updated: Apr-19-06 10:55 AM EST –

I rather imagine the Force boats have not been paddled by enough people for long enough for reasonable opinions to be formed let alone a consensus developed on how these boats are or are not alike. My $.02 based on very limited experience in both and a few SWAGs looking at the hulls is the Force and Explorer are rather different ways of getting to the same goal of a solid, open water, extended trip boat. I doubt it will be viewed as an Explorer copy or clone. It seems to me the Currituck is more like the Explorer than the Force boats, but what do I know? Not much. To me the intriguing question is whether the Force will become popular as a day boat for rough water fans as the Explorer has in the NE which is my frame of reference or be seen primarily as a fast day tripper and camping boat.

Better Quality out of NDK
Our local shop got its shipment of NDK boats a few weeks back and so far the quality looks superb, looks like they may have sorted out their QC issues. A friend of mine who is extremely picky grabbed a new Explorer and hasn’t found anything wrong with it yet.

ignorant of both
but I wonder if the Force is stiffer tracking and less forgiving in waves

Force 4 very manuverable
Not like you’re thinking. Pretty easy to spin it around in a stroke.

wow, that goes goes against
their description of the “Pro Touring” line.