Ndk romany classic seat

I’m sure this has been covered before. But if not not here goes. I have the above boat . It’s 16 years old. I only have it one year. I find it unstable and wobbly. Plus the seat is uncomfortable and the back support strap gives little support. I want to replace the seat to get a bit lower in the boat and increase stability. So I’m thinking foam, carbon fiber or a different fiberglass one glued directly to the boat with a foam block for the back support. I can’t find the foam block precut for back support so if anyone has a template to cut my own , that would really help. Any recommendations regarding which seat? I’m relatively new to this, ideally I want a seat that’s a good all rounder , rolling , day trips , rock hopping and everything in between. Please put me out of my misery and indulge me with your worldly knowledge.

FIW, that is my go to boat for paddling solo because it will do more to keep you from capsizing in slop than anything else I have. Yes it will react to waves, it is supposed to, but it takes a hell of a lot of edge to take it fully over. Both for that and its longer cousin the old Explorer. Unless the paddler gets nervous and stiffens up. I have had a wave surprise me and kick these boats up way past the edge of the skirt being wet, as long as I stayed loose they rebounded back rather than capsize.

The seat is already sitting close to the bottom unless it is not the original, not sure that you get much in the way of lowered height by replacing it. It is admittedly not a crowd pleaser. I happen to prefer a hard seat that does not go nuts trying to be ergonomic, but one option with the present seat is to put in a layer of quarter inch or so minicell foam in the seat pan. And some have also added something in front of the seat to help support the thighs a little more.