Necky Chatham 18 or P&H Cetus?

-- Last Updated: Apr-01-10 1:54 PM EST --

Hi All,
I am relatively new to kayaking, but with some good training courses and recreation time. I am looking at getting myself a kayak that I won't grow out of too soon and which will be suitable for some swell plus flat water for 3-4 day camping trips as well as day trips.

I am most interested in a Necky Chatham 17 OR a P&H Cetus kayak. I had looked at the Looksha Elite by Necky, but decided I'd rather have a skeg since I've never used rudders of any kind.

I like the idea of the Cetus because it seems pretty long and slender for speed and also it has the day hatch on the deck which I would find very useful. The Chat17 also seems like a long thing with a great shape.

at the moment Im more drawn to the Cetus, but
I'd be really pleased to hear what people would suggest/prefer: cetus or chatham 17.

Edit: I made a mistake in the subject. I am referring to the Chatham 17 not 18.

more details: I am 6 foot tall and weigh 175 pounds. I have quite long legs and tend to get numb thighs/feet when kayaking for long periods.

Cheers,
L

more info and correction

– Last Updated: Apr-01-10 1:33 PM EST –

Edit: I made a mistake in the subject. I am referring to the Chatham 17 not 18.

more details: I am 6 foot tall and weigh 175 pounds. I have quite long legs and tend to get numb thighs/feet when kayaking for long periods.

gotta paddle 'em, Chatham 17 or 18?

– Last Updated: Apr-01-10 1:43 PM EST –

the Chatham 18 is a funny extension of the 16, low rocker and full waterline to the ends, huge cockpit. I'd prefer something with more rocker. My $.02 is that what it attempts in forward speed while maintaining its down wave handling it loses in hang out comfort. Honestly if you're looking for a fast kayak there are better choices. What this one has is an uncommonly tall cockpit which could be just the thing if you have long legs and big feet.