Necky Chatham or Elaho

Hi, I am new to paddling, but after two evening courses and having paddled in rented kayaks for a few days, I want to buy my own kayak. The kayaks we rented, which were the same as we used on the course , are the Necky Zoar Sport. Although they were extremely stable on flat water, They felt rather unstable in wawes. On silent water, they where somewhat boring to paddle.

I am 16 years old, about 1.83 metres high and weights 72 kg. I do want to have som fun while paddling, and was very excited while paddling in waves.

I tried the Chatham 16 poly today and I just love it. It is a large difference from the Zoar Sport. However, my mother thinks that I should buy a kayak with a rudder. The kayak retailer is not sure, but recommends the Necky Elaho. I am going to try the Necky Elaho tomorrow, but I won’t got to try any of them in waves.

Do you have any advice to give?

Aasmund

Trondheim, Norway

Chatham!
“my mother thinks that I should buy a kayak with a rudder”

Is your mother an accomplished kayaker?

I personally don’t care for rudders. Other might even argue that for playing in waves, rudders are next to useless. But maybe your mother knows the area you kayak better than us?

nope
No, she has not paddled any more than me, and she certainly does not rank waves as highly as I do.

Go for the Chatham.
You will be able to really grow with the Chatham. You’d enjoy the Elaho but over the longer haul the Chatham will be a better boat. It’s outfitted really well and at your size it should fit like a glove. Stay away from rudders. A skeg is all you need if you need even that. Rudders can get in the way and I prefer my foot pegs to be only foot pegs. You should also try a VCP Avocet before you buy a Chatham. You might prefer it and it also comes in plastic if that’s what you want.----Rich

be nice to your mother