Necky Looksha Sport

-- Last Updated: Nov-07-15 7:39 PM EST --

picked one up used from a buddy of mine, found it under an old river (school) bus. In surprisingly good shape, just a teeny tiny bit of oil canning, missing foot pegs and has a heat patch on the stern where the previous owner took it down the new river gorge. Paid 200.00 for it. Plan on taking it to Juniper Springs Florida over Thanksgiving. Tell me about the boat, my first touring kayak- so I'm a newbie when it come to this style of boat, figure I'll call Necky about the foot pegs.

Foot braces
Don’t know anything about the boat, but I do have experience with Necky foot braces as my first boat was a Necky. The left brace broke two weeks after I purchased the boat. The seat, a month later. While Necky did replace them under warranty, it was a PITA.

Their website lists those flimsy foot braces at $50. Do yourself a favor and get quality braces. You can find a pair of top quality Sea-Lect braces for $40 or less.

thanks for the info

Hatch covers

– Last Updated: Nov-07-15 7:38 PM EST –

Depending on the year you should take a look at the hatches, might be two sets per hatch, a plastic outer and a neoprene inner. Make sure you have an inner neoprene cover and it fits snugly on the hatch rim and doesn't have any holes. If it's missing or beyond repair Necky might still carry them. If it's a newer version with big solid plastic covers disregard, was the older boats with the double hatch covers.

You picked a good stream…
to learn your boat on. Juniper will teach you ALL the maneuvering strokes! It’s a blast! I’m heading up there in the morning. Enjoy…

T

Want a challenge
Park at the take out and paddle up stream.

See if you can make it through the little rapid

jack L

lol
in May it was a two foot drop. Maybe more water now.

good boats