Necky Loosha 14 or Necky Manitou 14?

I think I have it narrowed down to either one of these two… I would like to hear the opinions of more experienced paddlers of which one of the two would be the best for me.

I am a female, 5’7 medium frame. I still consider myself a novice, even though I have been paddling a little bit here and there for 2 years.

I am looking forward to read all pros/cons. Feel free to suggest other boats if you think they would be better. I have also considered a Perception Carolina 14.

Thanks!

Ally

Probably an apples and oranges choice
I picked up the Manitou 14 for my wife to use at her family’s lake camp. The cockpit is one of the easier ones for her to get in and out of so for her that was a requirement. As far as paddling characteristics I’ve paddled it several times including in some heavy wind waves and found it a very well behaved hull with an excellent mixture of solid stability, reasonable speed, reasonable maneuvering. good tracking and a solid skeg system. Can’t speak on the Looksha, but see no negatives on the Manitou .

The Looksha might be small
and the Carolina might be a bit big – just guessing here, but I’d try to sit in them and see how they feel. I have paddled the Manitou and it’s a great boat. I’ve seen the Carolina – definitely a good boat, but unless you need the extra volume it’ll just slow you down.

jim

I have the older Looksha Sport, almost
the same length and probably not too different in design. In spite of my size (6’ 5") and weight (220), the little boat is ok for me, so I think the new 14 will be for her. Of course if I tried to do an overnight, I would have to pack superlight…

More about you

– Last Updated: Mar-28-09 8:22 PM EST –

Where do you plan to paddle and what do you want to do in your paddling - quiet lakes and rivers or bigger stuff like the Great Lakes or ocean, day tripping or expeditioning, are there skill sets that you want to acquire like rolling etc?