necky manitou 14 dry bag advice

Hi all, i’m fairly new to paddling, i’ve recently bought a necky manitou 14 with drop down skeg.

I’ve got the paddling bug big time and am planning a week long paddle trip to nc in april.

Before purchasing dry bags, I’d be very appreciative of any advice (especially specifically from members with a manitou 14) as to what they find fits best in thier boats.

I’ve read that a number of small bags is better than a couple of larger bags, certain materials slide better into boats than others etc., tapered bags? Anything else to consider?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Might be
A stretch to think that boat can hold enough food and gear for a one week trip, it’s more like a weekender. But never the less it is a good boat as I have a Manitou 13 in my naval operations fleet.

Quite possibly he can plan one or two
resupply points along the route. He doesn’t state what part of the country he’s planning to paddle in, but most routes in the east allow for resupply.

capacity
thanks for the comments guys,

i have been looking at the area around Fontana lake, its between the Smoky Mountains state park and the Nantahalla state park. I may be able to park my car in a camping area on the south shoreline of the lake and resupply from my car midweek if necessary.

All the more reason to get the right gear and pack wisely with the reduced capacity of the manitou 14.

cheers

Lots of dry-bag info here:

– Last Updated: Jan-30-10 6:42 PM EST –

http://www.rutabaga.com/search.asp?cx=006311584319877927149%3Aodjg3dwizrk&cof=FORID%3A11&ie=UTF-8&q=dry+bags&sa=Search&siteurl=www.rutabaga.com%2Fsearch.asp#918

Copy and paste the whole thing, and you get several pages of bag descriptions.