Necky Rip 10 vs Pelican Quest 100

-- Last Updated: Aug-20-14 7:04 PM EST --

Hi Guys,

I'm a novice paddler looking to buy a kayak for calm rivers and coves. I'm looking at the Necky Rip 10, and Pelican Quest 100, exactly and Old Town Heron 9XT Between these, which one is more stable and tracks easier?

Thanks!

need more information

– Last Updated: Aug-20-14 7:39 PM EST –

What's your size (height and weight) ? Such small wide boats may not be the best choice for you but we can't know that without more detail. If you are a big guy (over 200' or over 6' 2") or a smaller person, they could be quite poor choices. Have you test paddled this sort of boat and other models of kayak to get a feel for what they do? You should choose a kayak based on what fits you and your intended type of paddling, not based on an incorrect assumption that a certain style is "for novices." It really doesn't work that way.

All 3 of those models you name are going to be slow and fairly sluggish and will limit the range of places you can paddle to mild and shallow inland waters near to shore. If you are an average sized person and only want short day trips where speed (as in keeping up with other people) doesn't matter) then these would suffice. The Necky is the highest quality of the lot and at least has a skeg and a sharper bow to correct the tendency of such designs to wander. The Pelican has very little to recommend it other than being cheap. It has no skeg, is 30" wide and and has no bulkheads. It's little more than a plastic bathtub. The Heron (and Rip) at least have a stern bulkhead. But that does not necessarily make it much safer than a boat with no bulkheads. Adding an inflatable flotation bag in the bow would make them safer. The Pelican should have float bags in both stern and bow. That adds $50 to $60 to the cost.