Need a rod and reel

I have been fishing a few times a year with a 15 or 20 year old no name
walmart rod (maybe sports authority) and reel. Last night I was pond
fishing and hooked into about a 3 lb bass(the biggest one I've ever caught,
so I'm a relative newbie to bass fishing) and I had my drag set as tight as
it would go and the fish was still pulling out line. So I'm to the point
where I think it's time to go buy a bass rod and reel. I also just picked
up a kayak that I'm going to set up for fishing.

I have a cabelas near where I'm going to be this weekend. I was looking for
suggestions on a spinning rod combo.
I'm thinking something 6 foot to 6'6". I'm not looking for something that
will break the bank. Primarily fishing for Bass, Like to keep the rod and
reel combo to under $150.

Any suggestions.

Thanks,
Nick

Complete with link
There’s a million different ones you could use. I’d recommend a 6’6" Medium or Medium Light rod with a moderate quality spinning reel. I would recommend a Fast to Medium Fast tip. Faster is not better, especially if you’ll be using the same rod for all fishing applications from live bait to soft plastics to crankbaits to spinnerbaits.

Cabelas does a good job of putting together rod and reel combos that balance well. I would avoid the $30 to $40 versions. They’ll be about what you’ve been fishing with. Nothing wrong with that, but you’ve expressed a preference to move up. For $150, they have some extremely good combinations that will keep you happy for a long while.

Here’s a link to one such:

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/product/standard-item.jsp?_DARGS=/cabelas/en/common/catalog/item-link.jsp_A&_DAV=MainCatcat20166-cat20287&id=0075355125161a&navCount=1&podId=0075355&parentId=cat20287&masterpathid=&navAction=push&catalogCode=IA&rid=&parentType=index&indexId=cat601233&hasJS=true

Another: