Need advice on a first kayak

It seems that the kayaking bug has bitten me as the temperature has begun to rise and the snow has melted away here in Maryland and Pennsylvania. I’ve started to look into buying a kayak and have done a bit of reading, but I would like to get the opinions of some real people with experience.

Use:

Day trips (2-6 hours)

Weekend camping trips (2-3 days)

Possibly longer camping trips…I can pack light (1-2 weeks)

Where:

Slow rivers, lakes, possibly the Chesapeake Bay

My skill level:

I would consider myself a beginner-intermediate kayaker. I’ve had some experience with canoes and feel very competent but I have limited kayak experience. I am in good shape, athletic, and have good coordination.

My size:

5’10"

160 lbs

10 1/2 shoe

Budget:

I am a student on a limited budget so something below $700 would be manageable.

I would like something that has a dry storage container or two, that I will feel comfortable in but will have room for skill growth as I get more experience. I will probably be alone most of the time so it will need to be light enough to put on the roof of my Subaru. I don’t feel that I’ll be using it in conditions where a skeg or rudder will really be necessary, but I am anticipating a move to Florida in the next year or so and one might come in handy there.

I fell I might be asking for an impossible combination of price, use, and performance, so any advice is welcome!

Just FYI, I live mostly in Annapolis, MD but also spend time in Central PA and northern VA.

starting point
Based on what you want to do, I’d look for a used plastic touring or rec-touring kayak. Probably in the shorter touring length, like 15-16 feet. That’ll get you out in the widely varied areas you mentioned. Something like a Wilderness Systems Tsunami 160.