Need Advice on Canoe Choice, Please

Greetings! I’m new to canoeing and am looking for advice on my first canoe purchase, please. I have a wife and two young boys (currently ages 2 and 4) and I’m looking for a good, multipurpose canoe to take the family out for recreation. I’ll sometimes have my wife along and sometimes it will be just me and the boys. I hope to fish, paddle, and occasionally take the canoe for overnight camping. I live in Kentucky and will generally be limited to fairly calm waters like lakes and slow-moving creeks. Here are my criteria, I think, and I’m asking for advice on what make and model canoe is right for my family:

1. Stable enough that an excited four year-old won’t put us all in the drink.

2. Easy-to-medium portage difficulty for one man. I have a small pickup and will be transporting and loading/offloading on my own. (My internet searches have led me to the conclusion that lighter generally means more expensive and this will, of course, impact #3, below.)

3. I’d like to spend no more than $650 or so on the canoe, not counting accessories.

I thank you all in advance for your kind assistance.

If what is
recommended is not in your area, the recommendation won’t do you much good. I’d recommend finding a dealer or three in the area, seeing if they have rentals, demos etc… If you find something you like, see if you can get a deal on a leftover rental or demo, or look used for what you decide you liked. I did internet search before I bought my first canoe, but after lifting and paddling several, ended up with the near opposite of what I thought I wanted. $650 is a limiting factor, although you could find a good used canoe for that money. Seats four, portaged by one is another issue as well. Good luck and good times, and happy new year!

Old Town Camper?