Need advice on car heights and loading

I have a shoulder injury and I mostly kayak on the ocean/bays where there are sometimes riptides and strong currents, and I like the ability to go long-distances to fishing spots, so I added a battery powered motor to my 14’ Pescador yak.

With my shoulder injury it’s impossible to get the yak up on my Hyundai Tucson b/c of the height, and I’m ready to replace it with a new car for lots of other reasons. I read a thread here in the winter, and a poster said that a 58” high car would be significantly better than a 63” car like the Soul. No matter the height, I can’t lift my yak overhead so I will need to slide one side up. I’m fairly new to transporting yaks by car. How much difference do you think 4" or 6" makes?

I’m primarily looking at the hatchbacks of the Fit, Soul, Accent and Sonic, based on benefits for the price, which needs to be below $19k since I work for a nonprofit. Also maybe the Versa, Suzuki SX4 and Scion xD. I had ruled out several models because their hatchbacks seem to curve significantly such as the Yaris, Rio and Fiesta.

Two people said it’s possible to get racks for any car model. But for models with fairly curved roofs like http://www.autoguide.com/gallery/d/607591-2/2013-ford-fiesta-hatchback-2.jpg, do the racks look strange assuming the rear parts need to be a few inches higher than the front?

Does it also help if the rear cross rail is close to the rear fender - because it seems to me that if I lift one end of the yak up, it would help if I only need to slide it several inches to place it on the rear rail? If the rear rail is 15 inches in, I’d have to slide it further - for example the Rio - http://www.autoguide.com/gallery/d/611549-2/2013-kia-rio-sx-hatchback-4.jpg

I’m guessing the somewhat flatter roofed models will let the back rail be closer to the rear? Are there any tricks for getting yaks up and down from car tops if you’re solo?