need advice on installing skid plates

I’ve scratched the gel coat on my Bell angler which is Royalex and want to install skid plates to prevent any more damage. I have never done this before, I’ve read some of the previous threads on how to install these. My question is how well do they work and can you match hull color somehow?

they work very well
which is why you so often see them. matching hull colour is a pain but can be done if you choose to chase down the pigment to colour the resin. not sure if this can only be done with certain resins though.

get a kit with the kevlar felts and epoxy resin and outline the felts on the ends of your boat. then rough up the surface with coarse sandpaper. the bond with royalex is not chemical but mechanical= needs a coarse surface to hold on to.

best bet is to ask a good local paddling retailer because the description is long and tedious, but it is not that hard to do.

Way back many moons ago…
when I got my first brand new OT disco, the first thing that I wanted to do was put on a skid plate, since I thought that was the mark of an experienced paddler.

When I went to buy one at an outfitting store, the old timer working there advised me that it would be a complete waste of money to put a skid plate on the front of a canoe until it was to the point that it needed repair.

He was absolutely right.

My son in law now has that canoe, and it still doesn’t have and doesn’t need a skid plate, even though there are plenty of story telling scars on the bow.

Every year we race our delicate lightweight Jensen in the New River canoe race, and every year we get a couple of good scrapes on the bow from bouncing off some sharp rocks, some of which scrape right into the kevlar fabric. the week after the race, I take a little two part epoxy, (about $2.98) at the local home store and touch up the scratches.

I know this does not answer your question, but I wouldn’t add a skid plate until your bow is completely shot.

Cheers,

JackL