Need advice on kayak! I'm a newb

Hello! First off I’m a newbie at kayaks. Looking for a 1 or 2 seater that would be good for fishing and crusing… I’ve been told

Hobies are good, however is there another comporabtle brands? Thanks

much more to narrow down

– Last Updated: Jun-28-16 1:02 PM EST –

Cruising what? fishing where? One or two seater = big difference. sit on or sit in? SOT (sit on top) can be wet, and thus is more of a warm water boat than a sit in.(3 season) I would start with a single sit in rec boat unless you know that you will only want a warm water boat and will plan to get wet, then a SOT. Your size and the capacity of the boat is important to consider also.
spend some time with the gear guide section.

Hobies
Hobies are kind of oddball kayaks in that they have foot pedals that propel paddles underneath the boat. While they do keep the paddler’s hands free for fishing they are very heavy and extremely expensive.

Boats good for fishing tend to be wide and flat bottomed (barge-like) so you have a stable platforms and room for gear. If you really want to cruise you want something lighter, narrower and easier to paddle to speed.

It sounds like you have not had much experience with kayaking so renting or going out with an outfitter would be a recommended first step. There are many variables in choosing a boat – we usually suggest starting with something used if you are not really sure what you’ll be doing. Without knowing your size, where you plan to paddle and your budget, it’s hard to get very specific with recommendations.

2nd this ^
Depending on where you want to paddle and fish, you may even want a canoe.