Need Advice on Tandem Selection

I’m looking to purchase a tandem kayak that’s time will be split between transporting 2 adults/1 child or simply a single adult. I’ve looked at both the WS Pamlico 135T and the 160T due to their relatively high weight capacity ratings. I’m leaning toward the 160T, as I like the child jump seat option but how well would it handle with a lone paddler? All my previous experience has been with sit-on-tops so I’ve also looked at the Tarpon 130T. Any advice on the WS models mentioned above (or other brands/models that may be comparable) is appreciated. B in MS

We had a 145T
and it handled as well solo as it did with 2 paddlers. We bought it in 2001, pre phase3 seating. Our new boats are also WS, and the phase3 seating is the most comfortable I have tried.

Loon 160T
bryanpsims,

I have been paddling a Loon 160T, mostly solo for the last two years. I’ve had it out on the Hudson River and quite ponds and lakes. Its handles just fine solo, its not a sleek sea kayak, but so what? I did purchase a single kayak for myself, but am keeping the Loon 160T for my wife and daughter to use and as a future fishing kayak.

Good luck!

Luis Leon

135T

– Last Updated: Jul-31-05 10:13 AM EST –

I have one and am very pleased with it when two people paddle and less pleased on a solo basis (not because of the boat but because IMO tandems are not efficient for solo paddling).

Never tried to carry a child in the middle but I think the yak may be too short for that. I sit in the back and my paddle comes fairly close to touching the front paddler. I would also hypothesize the paddle would drip all over the child.

Are you going to paddle primarily with three people? If so, have you eliminated a canoe?

WS 135T
Upon further study, it appears that the 135 cockpit is just too tight to try to squeeze in 3. Any thoughts on the the 160T (w/child jump seat)?

Loon 160T
bryanpsims