Need canoe advice - large man

I am looking to purchase a conoe for myself and my family to enjoy. I am new to Canoes, only going out a couple times as a kid. My main concern is I am 6’5" 350 lbs. My wife is 180 lbs and my son is around 50 lbs. I have concerns with stability given my weight at the back of the boat. I see canoes with 1000 lb ratings, but I wonder if my weight in the back will make the canoe unstable. Can anyone provide any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mike

hey mike
You actually want to be quite a bit under the maximum capacity of the canoe or else it will be very tippy, unstable and just plain harder to paddle and maneuver.

You’ve got alot of choices, but if you have a price range you’re sticking to that will help to narrow it down. I would suggest, however, to go with at least a 16’and maybe consider a 17’if you’re planning to have the whole family in it most of the time. Length alone doesn’t determine the capacity of a canoe, but it’s definitely a factor. Here are just a couple of suggestions, but obviously your options are greater the higher the price range.

Old Town Penobscot

Mad River Explorer 16 TT

St

Good morning
I would look at a Wenonah Champlain, I have a Spirit II, bought it as a family canoe and a wilderness tripper, it’s served above my expectations on both.

The Champlain is a larger capacity version here’s a link.

http://www.wenonah.com/products/template/product_detail.php?IID=26&SID=8945de527e0ec211e1b994d76ee960fb

Trim Considerations
Mike,

You didn’t say what kind of water you are going to be paddling, but I am curious as to why you are going to sit in the stern. For paddling flatwater in the wind, I always feel it is better to have the heavy end of the boat point into the wind, since that is what the boat wants to do anyway. So you probably should think about being able to paddle either bow or stern, depending on conditions.