Need help buying kayak!

Hello all,

I am new to this and want to buy an inflatable kayak/canoe. But I have no idea what is best for me.

My needs are as follows:

-Around $500 max.

-For 2 adults or if poss. 2 adults and one child.

-Suitable for coastal kayaking, lakes, slow rivers.

-Long lasting.

And advice will be appreciated!

check out an article

– Last Updated: Jun-04-15 8:20 PM EST –

Check out an article on kayaks and small living places in California Kayaker Magazine. Issue #9. Can be read online at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html. Give you a feel for the pros and cons of various options, including inflatables.

Look for one with three air chambers

budget

– Last Updated: Jun-05-15 8:36 AM EST –

Honestly, your budget is a little low for a large IK ( inflatable kayak) that would be good quality and have the performance features you need for coastal use. Strong waves and currents require a boat with some structural rigidity that will support all that weight without sagging and bogging down. I suggest you try to double the amount you are willing to invest. Unless you have the patience and good luck to find a suitable used IK in good condition you will need $800 to $1500.

Among boats you should consider are:
- the new Sea Eagle 473RL which is $1499 in a package with paddles and all accessories.
- Advanced Elements 1014' at $920 for boat and paddles
- Aquqglide Columbia Tandem HD which AirKayaks.com has on sale for $799 ( without accessories or paddles). This model is listed as being suitable foe 2 adults and a child.
- Airis Play tandem at $1000