Need help deciding on a yak....

I’m new to paddling (been on a few rentals, but never owned one) and I’m in the market for a new yak. I’m about I’ll mostly be paddling small rivers on single and multiday trips and fishing (mostly fresh, but occasionally salt). I think I’ve narrowed it down to an OK Trident 13 Angler or a new Wildy Ride 115/135. I’m leaning towards the Ride because the rod pod on the Trident looks like it would bother me after sitting a while (but at the same time I could use the easy storage access for fishing and camping). On the Ride I can’t decide if I need the 135 or if the 115 is enough. I’ll be doing a good bit of camping so I need storage space, but at the same time I don’t want a boat that is too big to maneuver and transport easily. Any suggestions from experienced paddlers is appreciated.

options

– Last Updated: Sep-20-11 9:42 AM EST –

I have both kayaks and a canoe and for the use you are describing I would prefer a solo canoe. More storage space and load capacity, a more comfortable fishing platform, lighter and easier to load and carry, faster to paddle, also a more dry ride (sit on tops are wet). Have you considered that at all? Don't get me wrong, I love kayaking, but if I am doing a lot of camping and fishing I would take a canoe every time.

If you are definitely intent on kayaks, what's your height and weight? That has a great deal of bearing on which model will work best. And some more detail on exactly where you plan to paddle would help with recommendations, like in what state/climate and which waters. When you say "salt water" what sort of coastal waters are you considering?

options