Need help/idea on transporting canoe

-- Last Updated: Jul-15-09 6:37 PM EST --

I'm new to canoeing, having just picked up my first (an older grumman 17').
I have a ford windstar with a rack on top and thought it would be stupid simple to put a canoe up there...up there is easy, keeping it there is another ballgame entirely.

I have no clue how to secure it. I jury rigged it to get it home, but it's no way to do it for a trip down the hiway.

I have a hitch on the back to tie onto, but there is nothing up front. The canoe is a bit wider than the rack.

Thoughts, ideas?

TIA
chris

Did some searching and perhaps I need to clarify my concern. How to TIE the boat on? Bow and stern seems to do nothing (it still slips forward and backward, side to side)
To get it home I tied the canoe's cross bar in the back to the van rack (pita to say the least) and in the front ran ropes from the canoe cross bar to around the door posts.
Foam blocks were suggested by the seller and I see the advantage, but how does one get ropes tight enough from I guess, the canoe cross bars to the van rack? Would the foam blocks 'grip' the roof well enough to avoid side to side slipping?

If the van has a cross bar rack…
All you have to do is use a double looped cam-lock buckle strap over the canoe at each cross bar.

Cinch each one down tight and the canoe will not move.

Material: total of two straps. they are three or four dollars each at any canoe/ kayak store.

Do not use the ratchet straps like they sell at Lowes. they can be tightened too tight and damage your boat.

If you are not sure how to do the over and under(double loop) come back here and I’ll describe or someone else will. Or ask the salesman to show you how.

I keep a stash of all different sizes in my boat box in the car and if you were around here I would give you a couple.

Cheers,

JackL

For starters, read this:

– Last Updated: Jul-15-09 7:49 PM EST –

http://www.paddling.net/guidelines/showArticle.html?37