Need help on selecting right canoe!

-- Last Updated: Mar-04-06 10:29 AM EST --

Hi,New to board. I have some experience in kayaking, but very little with canoes. I am looking for a a canoe that I can go solo or tandem. I will be using it for inland lakes and midwestern rivers. Hardly any whitewater-rather portage.
I will be paddling mostly tandem in rivers,and mostly solo in lakes. I believe my best choice is a canoe in the 14-15 foot range. I need to have a descent capacity load to it also. I hope this is not to vague. Any suggestions on styles or models would be much appreciated.
My partners experience varies from young daughter-none, to brother with limited experience.
I am 6'1'' and 200 lbs., anyone that I will be canoeing with is either equal my weight or lighter.

Solo/tandem

– Last Updated: Mar-04-06 10:00 AM EST –

That's a topic that comes up a lot here. Try searching the archive for past threads on that topic. Here's one:

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=377574

If you could tell us your size and weight, your intended load, and if you'll be mostly solo or mostly tandem, that'd help.

Boats commonly mentioned for that role include the Old Town Penobscot 16, the Wenonah Solo Plus, and the Bell MorningStar or NorthStar.

I've got a MorningStar (Royalex) that works nicely as a solo kneeling -- it's very solid up on edge, and easy to turn. Like any tandem, it can be a handful in strong winds when lightly loaded. If you'll be doing a lot of open lake paddling you might prefer something with stronger tracking.

Beam is probably more important than length for comfortable soloing.

little more information
what about your partner? what is thier experience? What part of Ohio are you in anyways? I am in the North East. If you are close I have a new Solo-Plus on the way, we could meet up and i could let you try it (depending on if You have a cooler kayak than I do)