I have a new traditional West Greenland SOF with the following dimensions:

Length:17.5’

Beam: 20"

Depth to Sheer 7 3/4"

I’m looking at Feathercraft, which offers three options:

• large end float bags (17" X 49")
  • small end float bags (17.5" X 32")
  • main stern bag behind seat(17" X 30")

I’m new to float bags and need assistance deciding on size, whether or not I need one of each or 2 of the same, etc. All advice and opinions welcome.

Double duty
You might consider these dual purpose gear dry bags and floation bags.

http://shop.skinboats.com/main.sc;jsessionid=678B6561F8E60BA55C621D6DF7179294.qscstrfrnt04

Spiritline
I’m sure there are many options which work well, but I have been very happy with my float bags from Spirit Line in WA. If you will be using your SOF for day paddling, then I suggest you get the float bag for the bow and a combination gear and float bag for the stern. That lets you carry your day kit and kept dry in the stern float bag. They will mix and match if you ask them to.

http://shop.skinboats.com/category.sc;jsessionid=67C4C1955B3ABF331C63C4FBA0EFE042.qscstrfrnt04?categoryId=4

Yep - his Baidarka Bags…
… or make your own custom for best fit. Not hard. Heat sealable material(s) from Seattle fabrics, valves from NRS, tubing & PVC cement from local home center.

You’ll need different sizes
The rear will take a longer bag than the front. Another alternative is to use the same size for both, but put a paddle float in the rear to make up the difference. You may also want to consider getting “stow float” type bags that allow you to fill them with gear, if you plan to use the boat that way.