Need help .... suggest a canoe for me

-- Last Updated: Aug-31-10 9:28 PM EST --

I am new to canoeing and am currently in the market for a tandom canoe. I will mainly be using it for recreational lake use with my son. I rented several canoes already and although I am NOT looking for a speed racer I do want something that will glide easily and be fun to paddle both tandom and solo .... but not topple us over (not interested in completely flat bottom). I want to grow into a canoe rather than growing out of one after the first season of use. I've decided that I do not want Kevlar but would be better suited with a Royalite/lex. I am looking to spend approximately $1k for a used one. Please help me out with suggestions as the selction out there is a bit overwhelming.

Thanks in advance!

FYI - I live in NY

Budget
I’d think if you’re looking used and something in Royalex you should be able to find lots of good boats for well under $1k. My recommendation would be to keep an eye out on Craigslist and the classifieds on this site and see what comes up.

I wouldn’t get hung up on any boat in particular since you don’t know exactly what you’re looking for yet, keep your options open and wait for a good deal. Find a boat for a good price and if you decide you don’t like it or want to upgrade later you can get you’re money back out of it. You’ll probably go through a couple boats before you really start to figure out what you want/need.

There are some great deals out there if you’re patient and be persistent in you’re searching.

Alan

$350
Depending on where you live, you should be able to find a very good used Royalex canoe for $350-$500 without looking too hard. I helped a friend buy a canoe this past early spring. If he was willing to drive 2 or 3 hours (from SW PA) we found several nice Royalex canoes for $350 or so. He finally settled on a fiberglass Mohawk for $250.