Need some advice picking out a boat. (PBW Rapidfire vs Kayaks)

Hey folks, so here’s the deal… I’ve been paddling A 33lbs 12ft Old Town Pack for a few years now, and while it’s a nice little boat. It’s quite slooow and not that great in windy conditions and open water.

So I’m looking at purchasing a boat, here are a few factors

-I prefer to paddle double blades
-I always paddle with my 15lbs Italian Greyhound
-I plan on paddling open water and calm-ish coastal water, rivers, and lakes. Looking for versatility here.
-I plan on doing overnight trips, I don’t take a lot of gear so basic hatches are fine for me.

So far I’ve done a good amount of research I’ve narrowed it down to these

-Placid Boatworks Rapidfire

This seems like a great choice but I’m afraid it won’t be a massive change from my OT Pack, and it’s the most expensive. (3k+) On the plus side, people say it’s really fast and my dog will have more room, though she prefers to lay on my lap or legs while I paddle. Also extremely lightweight. I’m not mister muscle so a lighter boat is a plus.

-Hurricane Sojourn 146

Another nice looking boat with a larger longer cockpit so my dog won’t be cramped (hopefully). Skeg for open water, least expensive ($1,700) though heavier at 47lbs

I’ve been looking at Eddyline kayaks as well and they are beautiful boats. However the cockpit is a little shorter…

What do you guys think? My heart is telling my go with the kayak but I’m afraid I’d get it and have it be too heavy to constantly use or not have enough room for my dog and I. I’m also pretty skinny though and so is she so it might be fine. The Rapidfire seems incredible but I’m worried it won’t be much different from my current boat and 3k isn’t just chump change for me. For the amount I’m willing to spend I want a fast boat that will blow me away. Also I’m from Massachusetts so acquiring any of these boats won’t be difficult for me.

I appreciate any help and welcome suggestions and ideas.