Need Versatile Second/Intermediate Kayak

I am a beginner into intermediate, looking for an intermediate kayak. I have read the reviews, which are certainly helpful, and know that finding the right kayak can often be about personal fit and needs. But I also thought of posting here to see if a trend appears for a specific model. (bouncing around the reviews can start to get very confusing).

Until now I have paddled typical rec akayaks on both flat water and tame rivers. NOW, I would like an intermediate kayak for day touring and weekend camping trips on large lakes, impoundments and rivers.

I have taken an indoor self rescue class and plan to take a rolling class next winter. In the class (two sessions) I was in a Necky Zoar Sport and really liked the cockpit. I liked the thigh braces to help with hip movement while practicing coming up from 180 (sumulating a roll back up, from a 180, while holding onto the bow of a companion boat). Although I liked the Zoar Sport, my back did feel it by the end of the 1/2 day session (then again, I am 47, yet agile).

So…of course, I am looking for the ONE model that has it all:

– good fit (not into a bathtub feeling)

– tracking (fine with buying a skeg model - in fact may perfer it for those windy days)

– storage (for an over night, two nights if possible).

– long enough for hours of day touring, yet short enough for river work.

Looking at the standard 14+ models available at places like REI and EMS.

Any comments would be appreciated. I know I won’t find a perfect one, just trying to get to 80%.

What size are you?
No one can recommend a kayak without knowing some vital statistics.

Comments