Never Camped Before

-- Last Updated: Jul-13-05 7:39 PM EST --

I'm not what you'd call the outdoors type but I'd like to do some longer trips in my Kayak in the future. I'm very new to this (getting my first Kayak in 2 weeks, YEA!!!!) so "longer " to me means a 2 day trip somewhere.

Problem is...I've never been camping before. As a Cub Scout, camping meant sleeping bags in a cabin. I was thinking more like no real campsite. Just me, my tent and what I pack in and out. Now with that beings said. How do I get started. Can anyone recommend any books (I like books) or other resources to get me started.

At 50 (in July) I'm not Rambo. I'd just like to get away with my boat and my thoughts once in a while. Any ideas for a old cote?

I thought about overnight camping someplace like Stone Mountain to get me started. Close to home and they have bathrooms!

What to take
I tend to take more than I need most times. Lately I have been making a checklist of what I take then try to keep track of stuff that I use and don’t use so I can try to take less next time. If you can’t decide whether to take something or not I would go ahead and take it. Try not to get carried away and try packing the kayak at home first to be sure it all fits.

Here are some things I usually take:

extra paddle

first aid kit

tent

sleeping bag

thermarest sleeping pad

small pillow

small stove

cookware

food (canned/frozen stuff if your lazy like me)

small cooler

water (1 gallon/day min)

flashlights

small chair

extra change of clothes

camp towel

shoes

bug spray

etc, etc

The list can go on forever if you let it.

If you really want to get away come down and join me in the Okefenokee Swamp sometime.

http://www.fws.gov/okefenokee/

Sounds Good
As soon as I get a few miles on the new boat I might just take you up on that one.

You may consider
an outfitter for the first couple of trips. They have lots of experience to draw from so you don’t have to learn things the hard way.