New at Fishing: How to spend $100

OK, this might be the most pain-in-the-butt question to most of you but I’m hoping someone thinks of this as a good challenge. I’m new to fishing (well, fished probably 30 years ago but I forget everything) and want to fish from my Pungo 140 as well as from my 16ft powerboat (yeah, I know I know).

I’m in central NY, on Cayuga Lake in the Finger Lakes and also spend time in the Adirondacks. I don’t even know what kind of fish are here.

so here’s the challenge: If you only wanted to spend $100 and lived near a BassProShop and you were me, what would you buy?? Rod/Reel combo? Which lures? What pound line? A full sized tackle box? Do I need a net?

Anyone want to point me to a good forum for beginning fisherpeople?

Thanks for the patience. Please feel free to throw name brands and even models at me. Or just general tips.

Diane

Ithaca, NY

Go Shopping
Go to the pro shop. Tell the person how much you have to spend and what you would like to get. This way you can try many different brands and styles and see what works for you. Also tell them where you will be fishing. They should point you in the right direction for tackle.

Good Luck!

what I would do.
If you’ll be fishing for fish less than 10 pounds.

Bass Pro Shops Micro Light 6’6" spinning rod (Medium Light action) - or a Berkely Lightning Rod of similar length and action. ~$30

Shimano Sidestab spinning reel either the 1000 or 2000 would work fine - ~$30

Depending on what you’ll be fishing for and with or get both - Spiderwire fusion 4lb diameter (no stretch line - or a braided) and some good monofilament or flourocarbon line rated at 6 lbs. - each around $7 per 300 yards

Then spend the rest of your money on a couple plastic lure boxes for a buck or two a piece and some lures.

Well