"New" boat manufactured in 2009

I have a general first boat question that I’m hoping someone in the forum can help me with. I found a boat that I really like, in kevlar/carbon, at my local shop. The boat s being sold as new. It looks like it has never been used.

However, per the serial number and the shop owner, it was manufactured in 2009 and has been sitting inside the shop ever since. My question is, should I have any reservations about buying a “new” kayak that is of that age? I.E. any chance of the material degrading over time, even though it has just been sitting around?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, as I have no knowledgeable friends into this sport to ask.

Thanks in advance!

Should be OK
It should be fine. Check to see how it has been stored. If it was stored on a rack, check the areas where it rested on the rack for deformation.

If it was stored upright on its bow or stern, check the keel line to make sure it is straight.

If it has been stored indoors, there should be no trouble with UV degradation. If it is UV damaged, it would be pretty obvious because the gel coat would start to turn white and chalky.

Otherwise, composite kayaks can last a lifetime of properly stored and taken care of.

I agree…
It should be fine, especially if it has been well stored.

I would expect you to get a very substantial discount off the full retail price though. In 2014 I bought 2 “as new” with full warranty, fiberglass/kevlar boats that had been manufactured in 2012 and got about a 30% discount off each.

curiosity
What brand and model is the boat?

As others have said, when the boat was built means nothing; how it has been stored could be a factor. All of my boats were built before the one you’re looking at and all of them are like brand new and they’ve all got hundreds of hours of use on them.

bargain