New canoe owner .

Hi everyone . I’m new to the canoeing sport although I have canoed as a younger boy . I’m hoping to get advice on technique , locations and needed accessories . I’m the father of a 6 yr old little girl that I hope to pass on my love of the outdoors to her to enjoy for a lifetime .

Thanks in advance,

Rick.

okay
keep the open side up

fat end of the paddle goes in the water

wear your pfd

don’t trust whitey

LOL !!!

OK , that’ll help for starters !

I’ll bite , who’s Whitey ?

Welcome
You can find lots of advice here, not infrequently contradictory.

I’m glad to see a parent introducing their kid to paddle sports which seems a much rarer thing today than it was when I was growing up. Your daughter is at a good age too. By the time they are 12 or so they become interested in other stuff.

It would help if you told us what type of canoe you have and what type of canoeing you plan to do, whether you plan to just go out with your daughter or paddle solo or with another adult.

Also where you intend to paddle
We are not much help if we brag about an area that you can’t realistically get to.

all you need to know
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ohBUYQJflU

New paddler in Old Town Saranac 146XT

– Last Updated: Apr-09-12 3:46 PM EST –

Pblank , thanks for the reply . I purchaced the Saranac 146XT . I'm planning on calm streams & lakes for fishing and a nice float in the north woods of Pennsylvania . My daughter loves animals & critters ( bugs , fish , crayfish , salamanders and the like ). When she's a little older , I'll try an overnight float trip .

My reason for asking advice ? I'm now in my late 40's . Last time I was canoeing I was about 25 yrs. old . With technology advancing , I just want to purchace good quality equipment and accessories to keep us as comfortable as possible so she does'nt lose interest . I realize most equipment is common sense , but that the members here would know what works best 15 yrs later .