new kayak buying question

I’m very new to kayaking and looking to buy 2 kayaks for me and my fiance (23 &21). I plan to do some of my kayaking on class 1 & 2 rivers, lakes, and a little coastal kayaking, since i live in sc. I was wondering what kind of kayak you all suggest. I dont really have the option to try many out so its gonna be a buy and hope i like thinkg. I have looked at Liquid Logic-tuxedo, Perception-swifty and sundance, Dagger, Mainstream. I’m looking for something fairly maneuverable but that may still o decent in the flat water. any help is appreciated. Also what acc. do i need like what kind of skirt is good and so on. thanks

where are you in SC?
If you’re near Florence, you can try models at Naturally Outdoors (.com), the new store is near a river so you can try before you buy. If you’re upstate, ther are several places to try before you buy.

Dr Jack ( marriage counsultant, and long
time watcher of guys getting the short end of a long stick) by buying their soon to be brides kayaks; when their soon to be brides have no intention of continuing to be the wonderful fresh out door type girl as soon as they get you hooked, suggest that you let your soon to be bride pay for her own yak.

With all that advice given, The Swifty is a wonderful starter kayak.

Many on this forum have started with them and gone on to bigger and better things after learning that they indeed want to stay with the sport.

If these are your first boats. you should not be disappointed in the Swifty.

It is not fast, but it will turn on a dime since it is so short.

It is very stable. You would have to try very hard to tip it over, unless you are very overweight.

If they are still made out of plastic, they are just about indistructable.

As far as accessories: Don’t buy a bilge pump.

Save a few bucks by using a plastic milk jug or equal with the bottom cut off and the cover still on and tie a line to it to keep tethered behind your seat as a bailer.