new kayaker, need advice what yak to buy

I’m guessing this is the kind of post everyone loves to respond to.

I got in a kayak for the first time this summer, and within ten seconds I wanted one of my own. I’ve been doing a lot of research on the internet, but still can’t decide which boat to buy. So I’m turning it over to you experts.

I’m about 170 lbs and 6’. I’m reasonably fit and as long as the thing’s not made of lead I’m not too worried about being able to load it onto my car, but still I guess I’d rather go light than heavy. I’m a novice but not especially worried about “tippiness” or small cockpits. I would like at least one hatch to stuff things in. A relatively comfy seat would be nice too.

I expect to be doing slow rivers and lakes. Not interested in rapids or oceans right now. One thing I loved about the kayak I used was the maneuverability, zipping around fallen trees, feeling like I was riding a motorcycle when I was used to driving a van. I don’t want to lose that feeling, but at the same time I’d like something that can track and get a good cruise on going across a lake. Maybe a skeg, so I can switch between “rocky creek” mode and “placid lake” mode.

I’m thinking in the range of $500 to $1000. If it’s going to be on the upper end of the scale it has to be worth it, lots of fun for the buck.

Oh, and finally, what do you folk think about these half inflatable/half rigid shell contraptions? How do they perform compared to a one-piece yak?

Many thanks to all who lend assistance.

for yak advice call my Mongolian friends
for kayak advice I might be able to help you.

I would stick with a 12-14 foot model. If you are considering a skeg you should also consider a rudder.

If you really liked the kayak you paddled this summer why not buy the same model?

Wilderness Systems makes really comfortable seating, so check out their Tsunami line. For your size I would try a 125 or a 140.

How many different boats have you tried?