New Kayaker

Hi all.

I’m a fairly experienced in a canoe, but am looking to get my first kayak for some solo trips.

I’m 6’2 and around 275 lbs. I’m looking for a sit on top kayak in the $400 - $600 price range. I know a good kayak will cost a bit more than that, but I’m a beginner and don’t want to make a heavy investment in my first kayak until I get a little more experience and see if I take to the sport.

I’ll be mostly on slow-moving rivers that have some shallow riffles that occasionally have a strong current. The rivers may also have some occasional obstacles such as downed trees and large rocks.

I’ve never run into any problems canoeing these rivers.

My intent is mostly recreational paddling & exploring, but may also do some fishing, and an occasional overnight weekend trips.

There are also some small to moderately sized lakes nearby and I plan to explore those as well.

I’ve done some initial reading and looking around and have narrowed down my choices to three kayaks and wondered if anyone can give me any advice or share any knowledge you have on these.

1. Ascend FS12T Sit-On-Top Angler Kayak
  2. Field & Stream Eagle Talon Kayak
  3. Perception Sport Caster Angler Kayak

All three look good and have features that I like.

The Ascend has a 350 lb rated capacity. I like the placement of the cup holder and dry box on the Ascend, and it looks like it has the most capacity for storage. I actually like this one the best, but although I travel pretty light, I’m not sure the 350 lb capacity is going to work.

The Eagle Talon has a 400 lb rated capacity, looks like it has good leg support and looks like it has drain holes at the feet. The ‘screw-top hatch’ has a mesh bag, so it’s really not a dry box. Looks like it has plenty of storage in the bow hatch. I also don’t like being limited to yellow for the color. I’m also wondering if there’s a reason it’s $100 less than the other two.