New paddler needs advice...

-- Last Updated: Jun-01-07 5:45 PM EST --

So it's been 25 years since I have been in a canoe, and after 6 years of living just a few blocks off the water I have decided to pick up a used canoe in order to pry the kids away from the video games and to get some much needed exercise (and relaxation) myself.

I am new to buying a canoe as I said, but have found a deal on a rarely used Sea King ABS canoe... 16 footer. At $100, it seems like a good starter canoe... and at that price it's hard to go wrong I suppose as long as it is water-worthy.

My main question is... how do I, or can I, paddle this thing on a slower moving river (Fox River in IL) by myself? I know the kids will not want to go as often as I will, so I would like to be able to go out myself. I am guessing a better way is to get a kayak for those lone excursions, however, I am just now buying the canoe, so let's not get nuts here. I am planning for a kayak maybe next summer if all works out...

TIA!

Well…
I would cheat and use a kneeling pad and a kayak paddle and kneel in the middle of the boat.

watch this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4RJAeP7pDI

if you cant kneel the best control you will get is sitting backwards on the bow seat.

You can paddle with a kayak paddle but with less control; you will still get from a to b

Buy a center seat and a double bladed
canoe paddle

No problems!
I’ve paddled my 70# 16.75 ft. fiberglass canoe throughout the state of Florida (including the open Gulf of Mexico). Yes, it’s heavy and yes, it’s somewhat slow but I’m in good physical shape (except for the spinal injuries due to a hit-and-run) so enjoy your solo journeys in your tandem canoe and don’t waste your money buying a kayak; you can do things in your canoe you can’t do in a kayak, such as stand up and walk around in it, carry far more gear, and use a push-pole.

Larn how ta single stick…
first. Ye become a much better canoeist at de end.

FE

canoe solo