New Paddler Question

Hi,

I’m very new at paddling my Old Town Pack, solo canoe. I’ve been doing fine with a canoe paddle but I was told that I could also use a kayak paddle with this canoe. …so I tried one. Hmmm,

Am I supposed to get so darn wet and end up with an inch of water in the canoe after only five minutes?

Is that normal? The paddle did have those little rubber drip things on it, but they didn’t do much.

Any suggestions?

If you were doing fine with the …
canoe paddle, then stay with the canoe paddle.

Why do you think they call a canoe paddle a canoe paddle and a kayak paddle a kayak paddle?

Let the arguments begin!

Cheers,

JackL

It moves me through the water faster
The canoe works fine for just puddlin’ around but the kayak paddle helps me “move” with much less effort, especially if there’s a wind. (I’m a very beginner)

double blade issues.
Double paddles used solo are the easiest game on the water. If one can remember that tricky left-right sequence, the boat goes pretty much where intended and the paddler arrives pretty quickly.

Solo single blade paddling is the hardest game on the water. Knowledge, precision and practice are required to arrive at one’s destination.

Further, single blade paddlers are generally seated higher, and so need better balance, but the single stick is dry.

Pack canoes are minimalist canoes designed for paddlers seated just off the bottom and using double blade sticks. Old Town’s version is the widest pack canoe offered and does not use traditional low seating.

There are two ways to stay dry with a double paddle. The first is to acquire a long, 250-260cm, paddle and use a flat, or horizontal stroke. Disadvantages are that the wide footprint caused the hull to yaw away from each forward stroke, and the wide footprint doesn’t work on twisty brush banked streams.