New paddler wanted to say hi

Hi everyone! I am new to Kayaking and just picked up this older generation Old Town Castine. Any tips on kayaking or things I need are welcome and appreciated!

Welcome! Nice boat.

Very important is a paddling specific life vest that you always wear.

Loads of information here at pCom as well as at this site: http://www.paddlesafely.com/equipment/

1 Like

Thanks! I did order a PFD already, waiting for that to come in before I hop on the water.

2 Likes

Nice hull should be fast.

Where are you paddling? Water types available to your location ie river, lake, ocean, bays, or?

Any paddling experience? Take at least a few classes.

1 Like

Super. I don’t know your paddling experience, but if you haven’t had any instruction, a lesson with an ACA instructor would be helpful as it would include learning how to capsize and re-enter your kayak in deep water.

Have a wonderful and safe paddling journey!

3 Likes

See what is required on your state when using a kayak at the bare minimum.

Spray skirt if you take lessons on wet exiting. You can watch videos on YouTube to get familiar. Then a few lessons as suggested above.

1 Like

Welcome and congrats on your “new” kayak!

Others have made good suggestions. I’d add checking out some videos of how to tie a kayak into J racks - you’ll want each strap to go over the kayak twice and the bottom should loop under your crossbars, not through the closed loop of the J’s. Easier to see than describe so check Yakima or Thule’s websites for some visual help.

3 Likes

Thanks everyone! I live in the SF Bay Area so no shortage of water around me. I plan to start in calm lakes and rivers before trying the open bay and ocean.

Looks like a lot people are suggesting taking lessons so I’ll definitely look into that!

2 Likes

Oh wow! Lucky ducky! Loads of certified kayak instructors in your area. Maybe @Peter-CA can suggest a few…he’s certified ACA as well.

2 Likes